Alice Munro life and biography

Alice Munro picture, image, poster

Alice Munro biography

Date of birth : 1931-07-10
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Wingham, Ontario, Canada
Nationality : Canadian
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2015-08-11
Credited as : fiction novelist, Governor General's Award, Leaving Maverly 2011, Nobel Prize in Literature

35 votes so far

Alice Munro is a Canadian fiction writer, native from Wingham, Ontario which received the Man Booker International Prize in 2009 for her lifetime work. Also Alice was awarded three time with the Canada's Governor General's Award for fiction (in 1968 for "Dance of the Happy Shades", in 1978 for "Who Do You Think You Are?" and in 1986 for her novel "The Progress Of Love").

Her work narates about the human condition and their relationships, it explores all human complexities in the daily life.

She became known international with her first work "Dance of the Happy Shades" published in 1968 as won the year's highest literary prize, Governor General's Award for fiction. Two more novels followed, and a third one "Who Do You Think You Are?" was also a recipient for the Governor General's award in 1978.

Through the 1980s and 1990s, Munro published a short-story collection about once every four years to increasing acclaim, winning both national and international awards. In 2002, her daughter Sheila Munro published a childhood memoir, Lives of Mothers and Daughters: Growing Up With Alice Munro.

Alice's work appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, Grand Street, The Paris Review, or Mademoiselle. Her later work includes “No Love Lost”(2003), “Vintage Munro” (2000), “Too Much Happiness”(2009) and “Leaving Maverly” (2011).

The 2011 novel "Leaving Maverly" is a short story, set in a small town, about a night policeman and a young woman who works at the local movie theatre.


- Governor General's Award for English-language fiction (Canada) - 1968, 1978, 1986
- Canadian Booksellers Award for Lives Of Girls And Women (1971)
- Shortlisted for the annual (UK) Booker Prize for Fiction (now the Man Booker Prize) (1980) for The Beggar Maid
- Marian Engel Award (1986)
- Trillium Book Award (1990)
- WH Smith Literary Award (1995, UK) for Open Secrets
- PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction (1997)
- National Book Critics Circle Award (1998, U.S.) For The - Love of a Good Woman
- Giller Prize (1998 and 2004)
- Rea Award for the Short Story (2001) given to a living American or Canadian author.
- Libris Award
- O. Henry Award for continuing achievement in short fiction in the U.S. for "Passion" (2006) and "What Do You - Want To Know For" (2008)
- Man Booker International Prize (2009, UK)
- Canada-Australia Literary Prize
- Commonwealth Writers Prize Regional Award for Canada and the Caribbean.

On 10 October 2013, Munro was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, cited as a "master of the contemporary short story". She is the first Canadian and the 13th woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Author of books:

“Leaving Maverly” 2011
“Too Much Happiness” 2009
“The View from Castle Rock” 2006
“Carried Away: A Selection of Stories” 2006
“Runaway” 2004 (winner of the 2004 Giller Prize)
“Vintage Munro” 2004
“No Love Lost” 2003
“Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage” – 2001
“The Love of a Good Woman” (winner of the 1998 Giller Prize)
“Selected Stories” 1996
“Open Secrets” 1994 (nominated for a Governor General's Award)
“Friend of My Youth” 1990 (Trillium Book Award awarded)
“The Progress of Love” 1986 (1986 Governor General's Award for Fiction awarded)
“The Moons of Jupiter” 1982 (nominated for a Governor General's Award)
“Who Do You Think You Are?” 1978 (winner of the 1978 Governor General's Award for Fiction)
“Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You” 1974
“Lives of Girls and Women” 1971
“Dance of the Happy Shades” 1968 (winner of the 1968 Governor General's Award for Fiction)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.015s