Ann Beattie life and biography

Ann Beattie picture, image, poster

Ann Beattie biography

Date of birth : 1947-09-08
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Washington, D.C.
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2011-05-23
Credited as : Author, and novelist,

0 votes so far

Ann Beattie is an American short story writer and novelist.

She has received an award for excellence from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters and a PEN/Bernard Malamud Award for excellence in the short story form. Her work has been compared to that of Alice Adams, J.D. Salinger, John Cheever, and John Updike. She holds an undergraduate degree from American University and a masters degree from the University of Connecticut.

Author of books:

Distortions (1976, short stories)
Chilly Scenes of Winter (1976, novel)
Secrets and Surprises (1978, short stories)
Falling in Place (1980, novel)
The Burning House (1982, short stories)
Picturing Will (1989, novel)
What Was Mine (1991, short stories)
Where You'll Find Me (1995, short stories)
Another You (1995, novel)
My Life, Starring Dara Falcon (1997, novel)
Convergences (1998, short stories)
Park City (1998, short stories)

She is married to painter Lincoln Perry. In 2005 the two collaborated on a published retrospective of Perry's paintings. Entitled Lincoln Perry's Charlottesville, the book contains an introductory essay and artist's interview by Beattie. She was previously married to writer David Gates. While she was at the University of Connecticut, she developed a close friendship with Elaine Scarry.

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.099s