CeCe Winans life and biography

CeCe Winans picture, image, poster

CeCe Winans biography

Date of birth : 1964-10-08
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Detroit, Michigan
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2010-12-16
Credited as : Gospel music singer, won Grammy Awards,

1 votes so far

Priscilla Marie Winans Love, known professionally as CeCe Winans, is an American Gospel singer and winner of numerous Grammy Awards and Stellar Awards.

The eighth of ten siblings in the musical Winans family, CeCe Winans (born Priscilla) performed most often with her brother, BeBe, in a duo which recorded gospel material with R&B settings and proved to be the most commercially successful of the Winans groupings (which also includes her older brothers Marvin, Carvin, Ronald, and Michael in the Winans and her parents in Mom & Pop Winans). Born in Detroit, she worked with BeBe in a duo called the PTL Singers until 1987, when they released their self-titled debut album (with vocal contributions from nine members of the family). Four albums followed during the next seven years (two of which hit gold) plus 1991's platinum Different Lifestyles. The duo's success increased as they added more contemporary forms of production -- their two number one R&B singles, "Addictive Love" and "I'll Take You There," both treated spiritual love in fuzzy terms just as conducive to the physical. After 1994's Relationships, CeCe began recording her very first solo album. Released in 1995, Alone in His Presence found her working her way back to traditional gospel, singing standards like "Great Is Thy Faithfulness," "Blessed Assurance," and "I Surrender All." His Gift followed in 1998, and a year later Winans returned with Alabaster Box.

Guest appearances & Soundtracks

* BeBe & CeCe Winans with Vince Gill and Wynonna Judd: "Right Now (We Need Another)" (Zomba Recording, 2008)
* Patti LaBelle: "Walking Away (featuring CeCe Winans)" (Umbrella, 2006)
* CeCe Winans: "He Set My Life To Music" She Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool (BNA, 2006)
* BeBe Winans: "Tonight Tonight (featuring CeCe Winans)" (Motown, 2000)
* Various Artists: "Humanity" The Prince of Egypt Soundtrack (Dreamworks, 1998)
* CeCe Winans: "The River" The Prince Of Egypt: Inspirational (Dreamworks, 1998)
* CeCe Winans: "All Is Well Tonight" God With Us: A Celebration Of Christmas Carols... (Sparrow, 1997)
* CeCe Winans: "Take Me Back" Tribute: The Songs Of Andrae Crouch (Warner Alliance, 1996)
* CeCe Winans & Whitney Houston: "Count on Me" (Arista, 1996)
* CeCe Winans: "Rest In Me" Coram Deo II: People Of Praise (Sparrow, 1994)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.103s