Charles Jarrott life and biography

Charles Jarrott picture, image, poster

Charles Jarrott biography

Date of birth : 1927-06-16
Date of death : 2011-03-04
Birthplace : London, England
Nationality : British
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-03-07
Credited as : Film director, Anne of the Thousand Days, Golden Globe for Best Director

0 votes so far

Charles Jarrott was a British film and television director. He was best known for costume dramas he directed for producer Hal B. Wallis, among them Anne of the Thousand Days, which earned him a Golden Globe for Best Director in 1970.

The son of a British musical comedy actress, Charles Jarrott inaugurated his own theatrical career after World War II, first as assistant stage manager with the Council of Great Britain Touring Company, then as actor/director with the Nottingham Repertory. In 1953, Jarrott relocated to Canada, where he was resident actor at the Ottawa Theatre. Within two years, he was directing for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Entering films as a director in 1962, he went on to win a Golden Globe nomination for his work on Anne of a Thousand Days. It is generally assumed that Jarrott's film directorial career came to a halt after the unsuccessful Lost Horizon (1973). However, while it is true that he was no longer offered plum film assignments (Condorman, though profitable, was hardly Oscar calibre), he was enormously successful in both British and American television. His TV-movie manifest includes 1987's Poor Little Rich Girl: The Barbara Hutton Story, for which he won an Emmy; 1988's The Woman He Loved, a lavish recounting of the Prince Edward/Wallis Warfield Simpson affair; and the controversial 1991 biopic Lucy and Desi: Before the Laughter. Charles Jarrott is married to actress Katharine Blake.


* Anne of the Thousand Days (1969)
* Mary, Queen of Scots (1971)
* Lost Horizon (1973)
* The Dove (1974)
* Escape from the Dark (1976)
* The Other Side of Midnight (1977)
* The Last Flight of Noah's Ark (1980)
* Condorman (1981)
* The Amateur (1981)
* The Boy in Blue (1986)
* The Secret Life of Algernon (1997)
* Turn of Faith (2001)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.152s