Christopher G. Moore life and biography

Christopher G. Moore picture, image, poster

Christopher G. Moore biography

Date of birth : 1952-07-08
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Canada
Nationality : Canadian
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2010-07-07
Credited as : Fiction and non-fiction writer, A Killing Smile, Vincent Calcino Private Eye series

0 votes so far

Christopher G. Moore (born 8 July 1952) is a Canadian writer of twenty novels and one collection of short stories. He is best known for his trilogy A Killing Smile (1991), A Bewitching Smile (1992) and A Haunting Smile (1993), a behind-the-smiles study of his adopted country, Thailand, and for his Vincent Calvino Private Eye series set in Bangkok. His novels have been translated into German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Hebrew, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, Turkish, Norwegian and Thai.

While a law professor at the University of British Columbia, he had the chance to visit Japan in 1983 and from Tokyo at the invitation of a friend continued on to visit Thailand for the first time . His first book His Lordship’s Arsenal was published in New York in 1985.

Vincent Calvino is a fictional Bangkok-based private eye created by Christopher G. Moore in the Vincent Calvino Private Eye series. Vincent Calvino first appeared in 1992 in Spirit House, the first novel in the series. His latest appearance is in The Risk of Infidelity Index, the ninth novel in the series published in 2007. Moore’s protagonist, Vincent Calvino, half Jewish and half Italian, is an ex-lawyer from New York, who, under ambiguous circumstances, gave up law practice and became a private eye in Bangkok. “Hewn from the hard-boiled Dashiell Hammett/Raymond Chandler model, Calvino is a tough, somewhat tarnished hero with a heart of gold.”—Mark Schreiber, The Japan Times.Calvino has been said to epitomize "the complex, thus constantly troubled, private investigator of classic crime fiction, albeit replanted into the exotic, even surreal setting that is Thailand . . ."


* His Lordship's Arsenal, Freundlich Books (1985) ISBN 0-88191-033-3; Critics Choice (1988); Heaven Lake Press (1999); Subway Books (2003).
* Enemies of Memory, White Lotus (1990); reprinted as Tokyo Joe, Heaven Lake Press (2003) ISBN 974-92281-7-0.
* A Killing Smile, White Lotus (1991) ISBN 974-8495-48-5, second printing (1992), third and fourth printing BookSiam (1996); fifth and sixth printing Heaven Lake Press (2000); seventh printing (2004).
* A Bewitching Smile, White Lotus (1992) ISBN 974-8495-57-4; Heaven Lake Press (2000).
* Spirit House, White Lotus (1992), Heaven Lake Press (1999) ISBN 974-8495-58-2, reprinted (2004), Grove Press (2008)
* Asia Hand, White Lotus (1993) ISBN 974-8495-70-1, Heaven Lake Press (2000), Black Cat (2010).
* A Haunting Smile, White Lotus (1993) ISBN 974-8495-82-5, Heaven Lake Press (1999) reprinted (2004).
* Cut Out, White Lotus (1994) ISBN 974-87116-3-3, Matichon, (1996), Heaven Lake Press (1999). Re-released under the title Zero Hour in Phnom Penh – ISBN 974-93035-9-8.
* Saint Anne, Asia Books (1994) reprinted as Red Sky Falling Heaven Lake Press (2005) ISBN 974-92385-7-5.
* Comfort Zone, White Lotus (1995), pocketbook edition (1997) ISBN 974-87754-9-6; Heaven Lake Press (2001).
* The Big Weird, bookSiam (1996), Heaven Lake Press (2000) ISBN 974-89677-3-5.
* God of Darkness, Asia Books (1998) ISBN 974-92281-7-0, Heaven Lake Press (1999) reprinted (2004).
* Cold Hit, Heaven Lake Press (1999) ISBN 974-92104-1-7; reprinted (2004). The German translation is titled Nana Plaza.
* Chairs, Heaven Lake Press (2001) ISBN 974-87691-9-4.
* Minor Wife, Heaven Lake Press (2002) ISBN 974-92126-5-7; reprinted (2004).
* Pattaya 24/7 (2004) ISBN 974-92066-6-5 Heaven Lake Press.
* Waiting for the Lady, Heaven Lake Press (2003) ISBN 974-92186-1-2, Subway Books (2004) Trade paperback edition Heaven Lake Press (2005).
* Gambling on Magic, Heaven Lake Press (2005) ISBN 974-92942-5-4.
* The Risk of Infidelity Index, Atlantic Monthly Press (2008) ISBN 978-974-88168-7-6.
* Paying Back Jack, Heaven Lake Press (2009) ISBN 978-974-312-920-9, Grove Press (2009).
* The Corruptionist, Heaven Lake Press (2010) ISBN 978-616-90393-3-4.


* Heart Talk, White Lotus (1992), 2nd Ed. Heaven Lake Press (1998), 3rd Ed. Heaven Lake Press (2005) ISBN 974-92942-5-4.
* The Vincent Calvino Reader's Guide, Heaven Lake Press (2010) ISBN 978-616-90393-4-1.

Radio drama

* View from Cambie Bridge (N.H.K. Japan) (1983)
* The Bamboo Pillar (C.B.C.) (1983)
* The Semi-Detached Barrister (C.B.C.) (1981)
* Sticks and Pucks (C.B.C.) (1980)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.157s