H. Rider Haggard life and biography

H. Rider Haggard picture, image, poster

H. Rider Haggard biography

Date of birth : 1856-06-22
Date of death : 1925-05-14
Birthplace : Norfolk, England
Nationality : English
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-07-05
Credited as : Adventure novelist, Allan Quatermain series,

0 votes so far

H. Rider Haggard, born Henry Rider Haggard was an English writer of adventure novels set in exotic locations, predominantly Africa, and a founder of the Lost World literary genre.

Haggard created the dashing adventurer Allan Quatermain, one of the great literary heroes of Britain's Victorian era. As a young man, Haggard spent several years in South Africa as a functionary of the British government, and Africa became the prime setting of many of the adventure stories he wrote later. Haggard was living in Britain when he published King Solomon's Mines in 1885. (He reportedly wrote the entire novel in six weeks after making a friendly wager with his brother that he could write a better story than Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island.) The book was a huge success, and over the next 40 years Haggard wrote dozens of similarly exotic novels and short stories, including Allan Quatermain (1887), She (1887), Montezuma's Daughter (1893) and Belshazzar (published posthumously in 1930).

The Haggard style featured a variable but dependable blend of hidden treasures and ancient artifacts, jungle beasts, creepy ghouls and mystical spirits, lost civilizations, and big-hearted, gun-packing gentlemen adventurers. Haggard also developed a serious interest in social and agricultural reform; he wrote The Poor and the Land in 1905 and was appointed a special commissioner for the Colonial Office the same year. He was knighted in 1912 and made a Knight Commander (K.B.E.) in 1919. His autobiography The Days of My Life was published in 1926, the year after his death.

Author of books:

King Solomon's Mines (1885)
Allan Quatermain (1887)
She (1887)
Cleopatra (1889)
The World's Desire (1890); co-written with Andrew Lang
Eric Brighteyes (1891)
Nada the Lily (1892)
Montezuma's Daughter (1893); co-written with Andrew Lang
The People of the Mist (1894)
Ayesha: The Return of She (1905)
She and Allan (1921)

Allan Quatermain series

King Solomon's Mines;
Allan Quatermain;
Allan's Wife & Other Tales;
Maiwa's Revenge: or, The War of the Little Hand;
Child of Storm;
Allan and The Holy Flower;
The Ivory Child;
The Ancient Allan;
She and Allan;
Heu-heu: or The Monster;
The Treasure of the Lake;
Allan and the Ice-gods;
Magepa the Buck (included in the collection Smith and the Pharaohs);
A Tale of Three Lions;
Hunter Quatermain's Story;
Long Odds

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.102s