Javier Bardem life and biography

Javier Bardem picture, image, poster

Javier Bardem biography

Date of birth : 1969-03-01
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Canary Islands, Spain
Nationality : Spanish
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2011-08-31
Credited as : Actor, Jamón, jamón, Academy Award

0 votes so far

Javier Bardem is a Spanish actor. He has garnered critical acclaim for roles in films such as Jamón, jamón, Carne trémula, Boca a boca, Los Lunes al sol and Mar adentro.

Javier Ángel Encinas Bardem has been awarded an Academy Award, a Golden Globe, a Screen Actors Guild Award, a BAFTA, five Goya awards, two European Film Awards, a Prize for Best Actor at Cannes and two Coppa Volpis at Venice for his work. He is the first Spaniard to be nominated for an Oscar (Best Actor, 2000, for Before Night Falls, lost to Russell Crowe for Gladiator), as well as the first Spanish actor to win an Oscar (Supporting Actor, 2007, for No Country for Old Men). He received his third Academy Award nomination, and second Best Actor nomination, for the film Biutiful.

Javier Bardem is the youngest member of a family of actors that has been making films since the early days of Spanish cinema. He got his start in the family business at age six when he appeared in his first feature, "El Pícaro" (The Scoundrel). During his teenage years, he acted in several TV series, played rugby for the Spanish National Team, and toured the country with an independent theatrical group. Javier's early film role as a sexy stud in the black comedy Jamon Jamon (1992) (Ham Ham) propelled him to instant popularity and threatened to typecast him as nothing morethan a brawny sex symbol. Determined to avert a beefcake image, he refused similar subsequent roles and has gone on to win acclaim for his ability to appear almost unrecognizable from film to film. With over 25 movies and numerous awards under his belt, it is Javier's stirring, passionate performance as the persecuted Cuban writer Reynaldo Arenas in Before Night Falls (2000) that will longbe remembered as his breakthrough role. He received five Best Actor awards and a Best Actor Oscar nomination for his portrayal of a strong-willed man who survived censorship, imprisonment, and homosexual intolerance for the privilege to write freely, only to commit suicide at age 47 in New York, ending a battle with AIDS.


1992: Jamón, jamón
1993: Huevos de oro
1994: Running Out of Time (Días contados); The Detective and Death
1995: Mouth to Mouth (Boca a boca)
1996: Éxtasis
1997: Carne trémula
2000: Before Night Falls
2002: Mondays in the Sun
2004: The Sea Inside (Mar adentro)
2007: No Country for Old Men
2008: Vicky Cristina Barcelona
2010: Biutiful

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.101s