Karen Armstrong life and biography

Karen Armstrong picture, image, poster

Karen Armstrong biography

Date of birth : 1944-11-14
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Wildmoor, Worcestershire, England
Nationality : British
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2011-07-21
Credited as : Author, ,

3 votes so far

Karen Armstrong is a British author and commentator who is the author of twelve books on comparative religion.

Karen Armstrong became a household name in the United Kingdom in the 1980s, thanks to her best-selling books Through the Narrow Gate and Beginning the World, her autobiographical accounts of her life in a Roman Catholic convent during the 1960s. She followed with a successful TV documentary series on St. Paul, and during the '90s she earned a reputation as one of the world's most successful writers on religion, with books such as Muhammad: A Biography of the Prophet (1992), A History of God (1993), and Jerusalem: One City, Three Faiths (1996). Also a part-time university teacher, Armstrong has also published a brief biography of Buddha (2001), a second biography of Muhammad called Muhammad: A Prophet for Our Time (2006) and another memoir, The Spiral Staircase: My Climb Out of Darkness (2004).

Author of books:

Through the Narrow Gate (1982)
The First Christian: Saint Paul's Impact on Christianity (1983)
Beginning the World (1983)
Tongues of Fire: An Anthology of Religious and Poetic Experience (1985)
The Gospel According to Woman: Christianity's Creation of the Sex War in the West (1986)
Holy War: The Crusades and their Impact on Today's World (1988)
Muhammad: A Biography of the Prophet (1991)
The English Mystics of the Fourteenth Century (1991)
The End of Silence: Women and the Priesthood (1993)
A History of God (1993)
Jerusalem: One City, Three Faiths (1996)
In the Beginning: A New Interpretation of Genesis (1996)
Islam: A Short History (2000)
The Battle for God: Fundamentalism in Judaism, Christianity and Islam (2000)
Buddha (2001)
Faith After September 11 (2002)
The Spiral Staircase (2004)
A Short History of Myth (2005)
Muhammad: A Prophet For Our Time (2006)
The Great Transformation: The Beginning of Our Religious Traditions (2006)
The Bible: A Biography (2007)
The Case for God (2009)[21]
Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life (2010)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.101s