Kasabian life and biography

Kasabian picture, image, poster

Kasabian biography

Date of birth : -
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Leicester, England
Nationality : English
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2012-03-27
Credited as : Alternative rock band, Velociraptor!, Switchblade Smiles

0 votes so far

Kasabian are an alternative rock band formed by Tom Meighan (vocals), Sergio Pizzorno (guitar, synths, vocals), Christopher Edwards (bass), Ian Matthews (drums) and touring guitarist Jason Mehler. The band has been compared with the likes of Primal Scream, with their similar electronica-indie rock fusion and Oasis, with whom they share their confidence, vision, swagger and rough vocal style.

It has been speculated that the name “Kasabian” is taken from the getaway driver (named Linda Kasabian) for the Tate murders committed by the Manson Family.

The band formed in 1999 in Leicester, England. Their first album was simply “Kasabian”, and in 2004 received lacklustre reviews. However, tracks such as Cutt Off and L.S.F (Lost Souls Forever) reached the UK Top 10, and with 2 more Top 20 hits and the album peaking at #4 in the UK Album Chart, they defied the critics.

The second album, “Empire”, was released on the 28th of August 2006. The first single from the album, also titled “Empire”, was widely regarded as a musical success, with its change of beat reminiscent of “Take Me Out”, and its catchy chorus. This was then followed by the release of the single “Shoot The Runner” and most recently, “Me Plus One”.

The third album, “West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum”, was released on the 5th of June 2009. The hit single off the album “Fire” was one of the Top 5 singles in the UK charts at the time, reaching #3 in the Official UK Singles Chart.

Kasabian started work on their fourth album, Velociraptor!, in November 2010 with Dan the Automator as producer. It was revealed in a number of interviews that some songs were already written. One track, titled "Green Fairy", which featured on the London Boulevard soundtrack, is present on the record under the name "La Fée Verte", but the Album Version is different to the soundtrack version. In June 2011, Kasabian closed the Isle of Wight Festival. They also headlined Rockness festival and played at Rock Werchter in July 2011. The band confirmed that the album will be released on 19 September 2011.

"Switchblade Smiles," the first song to be heard from the forthcoming album "Velociraptor!" was exclusively played on UK radio on 7 June 2011 during Zane Lowe's show on Radio 1. The title and release date of the fourth album was also confirmed on the show. This first single from the album is available for visitors to listen to on the Kasabian website, and is available as a download for people who pre-order the album.

On 9 September 2011, the album leaked online, 10 days ahead of its official UK release.On 31 December 2011, Kasabian played a New Year's Eve concert entitled 'NYE:Rewired' at the O2 Arena, London. The event was streamed live on YouTube.2012 will see the band headline UK festivals T In The Park and the Reading and Leeds Festivals, in July and August respectively.

Kasabian has found success in the UK primarily at the NME Awards, winning three awards: Best Live Band (2007) for the band, and Best Album and Best Album Artwork (2010) for the album West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum. After the release of Empire, the band received several nominations. The band won 5 awards out of 18 nominations.

Current members:
-Tom Meighan – lead vocals (1997–present), tambourine (live)
-Sergio Pizzorno – guitar, backing vocals, keyboards & electronic programming (1997–present)
-Chris Edwards – bass (1997–present)
-Ian Matthews – drums (2004–present)
-Jay Mehler - guitar (2010-present; previously touring member: 2006-2010)

-Kasabian (2004)
-Empire (2006)
-West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum (2009)
-Velociraptor! (2011)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.107s