Michael Chabon life and biography

Michael Chabon picture, image, poster

Michael Chabon biography

Date of birth : 1963-05-24
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Washington, D.C., United States
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2011-07-18
Credited as : Author and novelist, Pulitzer Prize for literature, The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

0 votes so far

Michael Chabon is an American author and "one of the most celebrated writers of his generation", according to The Virginia Quarterly Review.

Michael Chabon is a celebrity of modern American literature and the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for his novel The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay (2000). Fresh out of the University of California at Irvine with a graduate degree in creative writing, Chabon got a six-figure book deal for his first novel, The Mysteries of Pittsburgh (1988). The success of the book made him a literary star while he was still in his mid-20s. His second novel, Wonder Boys (1995), was made into a hit movie starring Michael Douglas and Tobey Maguire, and his third novel was the prize-winning bestseller Kavalier & Clay. He has also published collections of short stories, worked in Hollywood, written a novel for young readers (2006's Summerland) and overseen the birth of a comic book series (2004's The Amazing Adventures of The Escapist). Like his contemporary Jonathan Lethem, Chabon is considered a talented and versatile writer who blurs the line between low-brow and high-brow literature. His other books include the story collection Werewolves in Their Youth (1999) and the alternative-universe novel The Yiddish Policemen's Union (2007).

Chabon is married to writer Ayelet Waldman.


The Mysteries of Pittsburgh (1988)
Wonder Boys (1995)
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (2000)
The Final Solution (2004)
The Yiddish Policemen's Union (2007)
Gentlemen of the Road (2007)
Telegraph Avenue (2011)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.051s