New Young Pony Club life and biography

New Young Pony Club picture, image, poster

New Young Pony Club biography

Date of birth : -
Date of death : -
Birthplace : London, England
Nationality : English
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2012-03-28
Credited as : electronic band, Fantastic Playroom, The Optimist

0 votes so far

New Young Pony Club are an English electronic band from London, consisting of members from London, Hereford, Cambridge and Bromley. Their influences are prominently from post-punk and New Wave.

Inspired by LCD Soundsystem, the Stranglers, and Gang of Four, the band arrived with the release of the Ice Cream 7" in February 2005. The limited-edition pressing of 1,000 copies sold out in just three days, fueling New Young Pony Club's growing popularity among the U.K. music press and chic blogs. A deal with Modular Recordings, home to Wolfmother, the Avalanches, and Van She, and a second single, "The Get Go," followed before the year's end, but NYPC was still aiming to break overseas.

They got it when their biggest U.K. hit, "Ice Cream," was featured in the Intel Core 2 Duo television commercial in fall 2006. U.K. tour dates supporting Lily Allen followed in November. Fantastic Playroom, the group's first album, finally surfaced in 2007. Even considering the band's extensive subsequent touring, the wait for their second album, The Optimist, was a lengthy one; it was issued in 2010.

The band's debut album, Fantastic Playroom, was released on Modular Recordings on 9 July 2007 in the UK and 28 August in the U.S. Although the band had an album's worth of material, they decided to create an entirely new album.

Since its release, Fantastic Playroom has received generally positive reviews from the music press in Britain. Mixmag awarded it Album of the Month in its July issue. On 17 July Fantastic Playroom was shortlisted for the 2007 Mercury Prize.

The new album The Optimist was released in the UK on 8 March 2010.According to the We Smoke Fags final MySpace blog posting, their bassist Lee has joined New Young Pony Club after We Smoke Fags have decided to go on an indefinite hiatus.Lee has since been replaced on bass by Remy Mallet who previously played with Josh Weller amongst others.

Band members:
-Tahita Bulmer – vocals
-Andy Spence – guitar
-Lou Hayter – keyboards
-Sarah Jones – drums
-Remy Mallet – bass

-Fantastic Playroom (2007)
-The Optimist (2010)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.077s