Samuel R. Delany life and biography

Samuel R. Delany picture, image, poster

Samuel R. Delany biography

Date of birth : 1942-04-01
Date of death : -
Birthplace : New York City, New York, U.S.
Nationality : American
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-07-13
Credited as : Author, literary critic, Hugo and Nebula Awards

0 votes so far

Samuel Ray Delany aka "Chip" is an author, professor and literary critic. His work includes a number of novels, many in the science fiction genre, as well as memoir, criticism, and essays on sexuality and society.

Samuel R. Delany is the winner of multiple Hugo and Nebula awards and one of science fiction's most celebrated authors. Born and raised in New York City, Delany began writing in the early 1960s. His 1966 novel Babel-17 established his reputation, and over the next decade he became famous for his provocative futuristic explorations of race and sexual identity in the novels Nova (1969), Dhalgren (1975) and Triton (1976). His other works include the Neveryon series of novels (1979-87) and the novel Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand (1984). He has also written frankly about his life as an African-American homosexual, and his non-fiction books include The Motion of Light and Water: Sex and Science Fiction Writing in the East Village, 1957-65 (1988) and Times Square Red, Times Square Blue (Sexual Culture) (1999).

Author of books:

The Jewels of Aptor (1962, novel)
Captives of the Flame (1963, novel)
The Towers of Toron (1964, novel)
City of a Thousand Suns (1965, novel)
The Ballad of Beta-2 (1965, novel)
Empire Star (1966, novel)
Babel-17 (1966, novel)
Einstein Intersection (1967, novel)
Nova (1968, novel)
Driftglass (1971, collection)
The Tides of Lust (1973, novel)
Dhalgren (1975, novel)
Triton (1976, novel)
The Jewel-Hinged Jaw: Notes on the Language of Science Fiction (1977, collection, non-fiction)
Stars in My Pocket Like Grains of Sand (1984, novel)
The Motion of Light in Water: Sex and Science Fiction Writing in the East Village: 1957-65 (1988, memoir)
Silent Interviews (1994, nonfiction)
Atlantis: Three Tales (1995, novel)
Longer Views (1996, nonfiction)
The Mad Man (1996, novel)
Times Square Red / Times Square Blue (1999, nonfiction)
Shorter Views (1999, nonfiction)
1984: Selected Letters (2002, letters)
Aye, and Gomorrah and Other Stories (2003, stories)
Phallos (2004, novel)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.102s