Sugababes (band) life and biography

Sugababes (band) picture, image, poster

Sugababes (band) biography

Date of birth : -
Date of death : -
Birthplace : London, England
Nationality : English
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 0000-00-00
Credited as : R&B Pop Girl Group, Mutya Keisha Siobhan, Overload, UK charts

1 votes so far

The Sugababes' Resilient Journey through Chart Triumphs, Lineup Changes and a Triumphant Reunion.

The Sugababes(2011-2019) are an English girl group composed of Mutya Buena, Keisha Buchanan and Siobhan Donaghy. The lineup changed three times before returning to the original lineup in 2011.

Formation and Debut - "Overload" to "One Touch"

Sugababes, among the leading British vocal groups in the new millennium, originated in 1998 when London natives Mutya Buena and Siobhán Donaghy collaborated. After recruiting Keisha Buchanan, Sugababes emerged on the scene with their debut single "Overload" in 2000, a collaboration with Felix Howard, Cameron McVey, Paul Simm, and Jony Lipsey. The track marked the beginning of a string of 26 consecutive U.K. Top 40 hits, setting the stage for their debut album, "One Touch," produced primarily with McVey, Simm, and Lipsey.

Despite initial success with "Overload," the album faced challenges, and the group was dropped from their label in 2001. A lineup change ensued, with Heidi Range joining, and Sugababes signed with Island Records. Their resurgence came in 2002 with the Richard X collaboration "Freak Like Me," followed by the release of "Angels with Dirty Faces."

Continued Success - "Three" to "Taller in More Ways"

"Three," released in 2003, secured Sugababes' prominence with hits like "Hole in the Head" and "Too Lost in You." The album's success led to their second consecutive U.K. multi-platinum LP, along with a Brit Award for Best Dance Act in 2003. The streak continued with "Taller in More Ways" in 2005, featuring chart-toppers like "Push the Button" and "Red Dress."

Buena's departure after the release of "Taller in More Ways" prompted the entry of Amelle Berrabah. The revised edition of the album achieved multi-platinum status, solidifying Sugababes' position in the music industry.

Evolution and Challenges

The period between albums saw Sugababes topping the U.K. charts with a charity single, covering Aerosmith's "Walk This Way." Their fifth studio album, "Change" (2007), reintroduced Donaghy, Buchanan, and Berrabah to chart success with the lead single "About You Now." "Catfights and Spotlights" (2008) showcased a different musical direction, rooted in retro-contemporary R&B.

Lineup Changes and "Sweet 7"

Amid the recording of their seventh album, Sugababes faced lineup changes, with Jade Ewen replacing Keisha Buchanan. "Sweet 7" (2010) marked a departure from the original lineup but still achieved chart success with singles like "Get Sexy" and "About a Girl." Despite a shift in fan base sentiment, Sugababes continued their energetic and sleek musical style.

Reunion and Beyond - Mutya Keisha Siobhan to "The Lost Tapes"

Rumors of a reunion of the original lineup culminated in 2012, as Buena, Buchanan, and Donaghy signed with Polydor under the name Mutya Keisha Siobhan. The trio released "Flatline" in 2013, followed by sporadic live performances and ongoing discussions about new material. In 2019, they secured the rights to the Sugababes name, solidifying their legacy.

Sugababes celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2022 with a reissued edition of "One Touch" and a tour. The year concluded with "The Lost Tapes," a collection of previously leaked demo recordings, showcasing their journey from "Overload" to a resilient and enduring presence in the music industry.

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.016s