Susannah York life and biography

Susannah York picture, image, poster

Susannah York biography

Date of birth : 1939-01-09
Date of death : 2011-01-15
Birthplace : Chelsea, London, England, UK
Nationality : British
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-11-23
Credited as : actress, BAFTA, Golden Globe

0 votes so far

Susannah York a native from Chelsea, London became a BAFTA-awarded television and film actress, which also got nominees for an Oscar and Golden Globe for 'They Shoot Horses, Don't They?' film.

She began her film career with Tunes of Glory in 1960, where also starred Alec Guinness and John Mills. Next year followed a leading role in The Greengage Summer (co-starring Kenneth Moore and Danielle Darrieux).

York played Sophie Western opposite Albert Finney in the Oscar winning Best Film Tom Jones (1963) and also appeared in A Man for All Seasons (1966), The Killing of Sister George (1968) and Battle of Britain (1969). She co-starred with George C. Scott (as Edward Rochester) playing the title role in an American television movie of Jane Eyre (1970).

For They Shoot Horses, Don't They? (1969) York got an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actress. She famously snubbed the Academy when, regarding her nomination, she declared it offended her to be nominated without being asked. She did attend the ceremony but lost to Goldie Hawn for her role in Cactus Flower.

In 1972, she won the Best Actress award at the Cannes Film Festival for her role in Images. She played Superman's mother Lara on the doomed planet Krypton in Superman (1978) and its sequels, Superman II (1980) and Superman IV: The Quest for Peace (1987). York made extensive appearances in British television series, including Prince Regent (1979), as Maria Fitzherbert, the clandestine wife of the future George IV, and We'll Meet Again) (1982).

In 1984, York starred as Mrs. Cratchit in A Christmas Carol (1984), based on the novel by Charles Dickens. She again co-starred with George C. Scott (as Ebenezer Scrooge), David Warner (Bob Cratchit), Frank Finlay (Jacob Marley), Angela Pleasence (The Ghost of Christmas Past) and Anthony Walters (Tiny Tim Cratchit).

In 1992, she was a member of the jury at the 42nd Berlin International Film Festival.
In 2003, York had a recurring role as hospital manager Helen Grant in the BBC1 television drama series Holby City. She reprised this role in two episodes of Holby City's sister series Casualty in May 2004. Her last film was The Calling, released in 2010 in the UK. Due to a severe and advanced bone marrow cancer, York died at the Royal Marsden Hospital in London on 15 January 2011, six days after her 72nd birthday.


The Calling (2010)
Franklyn (16-Oct-2008)
Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story of Ozploitation! (28-Jul-2008) · Herself
The Gigolos (26-Apr-2006)
Visitors (15-Jun-2003)
Diana & Me (4-Dec-1997) · Herself
Melancholia (20-May-1989)
A Summer Story (11-Aug-1988)
American Roulette (18-May-1988) · Herself
Just Ask for Diamond (1988)
Mio in the Land of Faraway (16-Oct-1987)
Superman IV: The Quest for Peace (24-Jul-1987)
Prettykill (27-Mar-1987)
A Christmas Carol (Nov-1984) · Mrs. Cratchit
Yellowbeard (24-Jun-1983)
Superman II (19-Jun-1981)
Loophole (Mar-1981)
The Awakening (17-Jan-1981)
Falling in Love Again (21-Nov-1980)
The Shout (4-May-1979)
Superman (15-Dec-1978) · Lara
The Silent Partner (7-Sep-1978)
The Adventures of Eliza Fraser (16-Dec-1976)
Sky Riders (21-May-1976)
Conduct Unbecoming (5-Oct-1975)
That Lucky Touch (7-Aug-1975)
The Maids (21-Apr-1975)
Gold (7-Sep-1974)
Images (May-1972)
Zee and Co. (21-Jan-1972) · Stella
Happy Birthday, Wanda June (9-Dec-1971)
Jane Eyre (24-Mar-1971)
Country Dance (22-Apr-1970)
They Shoot Horses, Don't They? (10-Dec-1969)
Battle of Britain (15-Sep-1969)
Lock Up Your Daughters! (30-Mar-1969)
Oh! What a Lovely War (10-Mar-1969)
The Killing of Sister George (12-Dec-1968)
Duffy (16-Sep-1968)
Sebastian (24-Jan-1968)
A Man For All Seasons (12-Dec-1966) · Margaret
Kaleidoscope (Jul-1966)
Sands of the Kalahari (24-Nov-1965) · Grace Munkton
The 7th Dawn (2-Sep-1964) · Candace Trumpey
Tom Jones (6-Oct-1963)
Freud (12-Dec-1962)
The Greengage Summer (14-Aug-1961)
Tunes of Glory (20-Dec-1960)
There Was a Crooked Man (31-Aug-1960)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.074s