T. C. Boyle life and biography

T. C. Boyle picture, image, poster

T. C. Boyle biography

Date of birth : 1948-12-07
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Peekskill, New York
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2011-06-10
Credited as : Author and novelist, The Tortilla Curtain, PEN/Faulkner award

0 votes so far

Thomas John Boyle also known as T. C. Boyle is a U.S. novelist and short story writer. Since the mid 1970s, he has published twelve novels and more than 100 short stories. He won the PEN/Faulkner award in 1988, for his third novel, World's End, which recounts 300 years in upstate New York.

Many of Boyle's novels and short stories explore the baby boom generation, its appetites, joys, and addictions. His themes, such as the often-misguided efforts of the male hero and the slick appeal of the anti-hero, appear alongside brutal satire, humor, and magical realism. His fiction also explores the ruthlessness and the unpredictability of nature and the toll human society unwittingly takes on the environment. His novels include World's End (1987, winner of the Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction); The Road to Wellville (1993); and The Tortilla Curtain (1995, winner of France's Prix Médicis étranger).

Boyle has published eight collections of short stories, including Descent of Man (1979), Greasy Lake (1985), If the River was Whiskey (1989), and Without a Hero (1994). His short stories regularly appear in the major American magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper's, Esquire, The Atlantic Monthly and Playboy, as well as on the radio show, Selected Shorts.


Water Music (1982)
Budding Prospects (1984)
World's End (1987)
East Is East (1990)
The Road to Wellville (1993)
The Tortilla Curtain (1995)
Riven Rock (1998)
A Friend of the Earth (2000)
Drop City (2003)
The Inner Circle (2004)
Talk Talk (2006)
The Women (2009)
When the Killing's Done (2011)
San Miguel (TBA?)

Short story collections

Descent of Man (1979)
Greasy Lake & Other Stories (1985)
If the River Was Whiskey (1989)
Without a Hero (1994)
T.C. Boyle Stories (1998) – compiles the four earlier volumes of short fiction, as well as seven previously uncollected stories.
After the Plague (2001)
Tooth and Claw (2005)
The Human Fly (2005) (previously published stories collected as young adult literature)
Wild Child & Other Stories (2010)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.109s