The Devil Wears Prada life and biography

The Devil Wears Prada picture, image, poster

The Devil Wears Prada biography

Date of birth : -
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Dayton, Ohio
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2012-06-25
Credited as : metalcore band, Mike Hranica, new EP

0 votes so far

The Devil Wears Prada is a well known American metalcore band from Dayton, Ohio. Formed in 2005, they are currently signed to Warner Music Group. The Devil Wears Prada consists of members Mike Hranica (vocals), Chris Rubey (lead guitar), Jeremy DePoyster (rhythm guitar, vocals), Andy Trick (bass), and Daniel Williams (drums), all of whom are Christians. To date, the group has released four full-length albums, one DVD, one EP, and seven music videos.

The Devil Wears Prada was founded during 2005 in Dayton Ohio; they derived their band name from the story with the same title. Being founded with all Christian members and maintaining a theme that follows toward their religion, the group played their first show in 2005 with a fill-in bassist and only one guitarist. Rhythm guitarist Jeremy Depoyster and bassist Andy Trick joined the band soon afterward. They continued playing at local areas in Dayton before recording their demo later in the year which was titled Patterns of a Horizon.

Despite speculations that the band named themselves after the film with the same title, it turned out that they were formed before the film was released. They have explained that their band name is based on an anti-materialistic mindset and derived their name from the novel, The Devil Wears Prada. At the time of naming the band, the members assumed that the novel included anti-materialism as its moral, until later discovering that the novel did not feature this as its message at all. Despite making this mistake, the band members refused to change the name and decided that they created a new meaning behind the title "The Devil Wears Prada", within the terms of it being their band name.

"It's the same concept as our lyrics 'emeralds hold no hope' and many others. What we believe it to mean is that possessions don't matter at all and someday everyone will realize that this is true. When standing before God, He won't care about your sweet Prada scarf or Gucci shoes or whatever. It's a Christian reasoning for the name, we didn't name it to attempt at being fashionable or whatever."

One year after the group recorded their demo and trialed for record labels, Rise Records took the band in with a contract. The band was unsatified with the demo so they re-recorded all the of the tracks from the demo for their debut full-length album, Dear Love: A Beautiful Discord. The album was recorded at The Foundation Recording Studio held in Connersville, Indiana and it was released on August 22, 2006. The record’s final track features guest vocals, courtesy of Cole Wallace who was formerly part of the band Gwen Stacy.

Band's new EP Dead & Alive hit the stores June 26th, 2012.

The Devil Wears Prada, ‘Dead & Alive’ Track Listing:
01. ‘Dead Throne’
02. ‘Untidaled’
03. ‘Escape’
04. ‘Sassafras’
05. ‘Born to Lose’
06. ‘Mammoth’
07. ‘Kansas’
08. ‘Hey John, What’s Your Name Again?’
09. ‘Outnumbered’
10. Assistant to the Regional Manager’
11. ‘Dez Moines’
12. ‘Dogs Can Grow Beards All Over’
13. ‘Chicago’
14. ‘Constance’
15. ‘Danger: Wildman’

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.188s