Tim LaHaye life and biography

Tim LaHaye picture, image, poster

Tim LaHaye biography

Date of birth : 1926-04-27
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Detroit, Michigan, United States
Nationality : American
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-06-28
Credited as : Author non-fiction, Left Behind, clergyman, minister

0 votes so far

Timothy F. LaHaye is an American evangelical Christian minister, author, and speaker. He is best-known for the Left Behind series of apocalyptic fiction, which he co-wrote with Jerry B. Jenkins. He has written over 50 books, both fiction and non-fiction.

Tim LaHaye is a Christian minister and political activist who developed the ideas behind the best-selling book series Left Behind, a fictional account of the Second Coming of Jesus Christ. The books, the first of which was published in 1995, are written by LaHaye's collaborator, Jerry B. Jenkins, and are based on LaHaye's interpretation of the prophecies of the Bible's Book of Revelations. The success of the first novel in the series led to several sequels, a feature film, Left Behind: The Movie (2000), and a series of children's books, Left Behind: The Kids. LaHaye grew up in Michigan, but began his ministry in southern California in 1958. Over the years he published several non-fiction books, including The Act of Marriage (1976), co-written with his wife, Beverly.

The LaHayes have also been active in conservative politics: Tim was a founding member of the Moral Majority and the Council for National Policy, and Beverly founded the conservative activist group Concerned Women for America. Although LaHaye has been criticized by Christians and non-Christians for his interpretation of Biblical prophecies, the Left Behind books are perennial bestsellers and among the few modern Christian works of fiction to have achieved mainstream publishing success.

Left Behind Series

Oct. 1995, Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days
Oct. 1996, Tribulation Force: The Continuing Drama of Those Left Behind
Oct. 1997, Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist
Aug. 1998, Soul Harvest: The World Takes Sides
Feb. 1999, Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed
Aug. 1999, Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist
May. 2000, The Indwelling: The Beast Takes Possession
Nov. 2000, The Mark: The Beast Rules the World
Oct. 2001, Desecration: Antichrist Takes the Throne
Jul. 2002, The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon
Apr. 2003, Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages
Mar. 2004, Glorious Appearing: The End of Days
Apr. 2007, Kingdom Come: The Final Victory

Left Behind Prequels

March 2005, The Rising: Before They Were Left Behind
November 2005, The Regime: Before They Were Left Behind
June 6, 2006, The Rapture

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.162s