We Are Scientists life and biography

We Are Scientists picture, image, poster

We Are Scientists biography

Date of birth : -
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Berkeley, California
Nationality : American
Category : Arts and Entertainment
Last modified : 2012-04-02
Credited as : Indie rock band, With Love and Squalor, Brain Thrust Mastery

0 votes so far

We Are Scientists is a indie rock band that formed in Berkeley, California in 2000.Originally formed of Keith Murray on drums, Chris Cain playing bass guitar and Scott Lamb providing vocals and guitar, before Michael Tapper became drummer and Keith became vocalist and guitarist.

Although formed on the West Coast by three California-based college students, We Are Scientists officially took flight after frontman Keith Murray, bass player Chris Cain, and drummer Michael Tapper relocated to Brooklyn and began building a small, devoted following. After releasing three EPs and one independent album, the group signed with Virgin Records and releasing their major-label debut, With Love and Squalor, in early 2006. Although modestly popular in America, the album became a gold-selling hit in the U.K., where the band's sound -- part post-punk revival and part indie rock, with a touch of '80s synth-pop -- drew parallels to popular bands like the Editors, Franz Ferdinand, and the Killers.

In 2008, the group -- which was now just a duo comprising Cain and Murray -- put out their second full-length album, Brain Thrust Mastery. As before, the record found more popularity overseas, where it debuted at number 11 on the UK Albums Chart. The band toured heavily in support, playing a number of European festivals and opening shows in America for Kings of Leon.

On August 7, 2009 it was reported that former Razorlight drummer Andy Burrows would be joining We Are Scientists. Keith stated originally they were going to work with a number of different drummers on their third album, however instead decided to work purely with Burrows after he left Razorlight.According to a post on Andy Burrow's Twitter account, the band was, as of November 11, 7 songs into the album, with 5 left to record.

On Soccer AM in December 2008 the band told the program that they were in talks with a British production company with regard to making a television series, and on October 25, 2009 the band released a clip from their television debut titled 'Steve Wants His Money,' which they announced would be aired within MTV's Lil' MTV program on a weekly basis.

On February 8, 2010, NME, Gigwise.com and The Fly announced the release of the album, Barbara, in June 2010, along with the release of lead single "Rules Don't Stop" on April 5, 2010. As well as this, the band performed a sold-out show at London's Hoxton Bar & Grill on February 23, 2010, as part of the NME Awards Shows and to promote the album. Tickets were confirmed to sell out in less than four minutes. The album's first music video is scheduled for shooting during late February.Songs confirmed to feature on the album include "I Don't Bite" and "Foreign Kicks," as well as lead single "Rules Don't Stop." Two live videos ("Pittsburgh" and "Rules Don't Stop") from the Hoxton show were also released as a freebie via the website. "Rules Don't Stop" can now be heard upon the bands Myspace page and Spotify.

The album was released (digital and physical release) in the UK on the 14th June 2010; followed by three in-store performances promoting the album.

On the 31st of December, as posted on Andy Burrows' twitter, a new untitled We Are Scientists album is currently being recorded. As stated on Andy's twitter, the band are getting together to record new demos.

Current line-up:
Keith Murray - lead vocals, guitars (2000–present)
Chris Cain - bass, backing vocals (2000–present)
Andy Burrows - drums, percussion (2009–present)

Safety, Fun, and Learning (In That Order) (2002)
With Love and Squalor (2006)
Crap Attack (2006)
Brain Thrust Mastery (2008)
Barbara (2010)

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.003s