Wendell Berry life and biography

Wendell Berry picture, image, poster

Wendell Berry biography

Date of birth : 1934-08-05
Date of death : -
Birthplace : Port Royal, Kentucky
Nationality : American
Category : Famous Figures
Last modified : 2011-05-30
Credited as : Author, A Place on Earth, cultural and economic critic

0 votes so far

Wendell Erdman Berry is an American man of letters, academic, cultural and economic critic, and farmer. He is a prolific author of novels, short stories, poems, and essays. He is also an elected member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers and a recipient of The National Humanities Medal.

Author of books:

Nathan Coulter (1960, novel)
The Broken Ground (1964, poetry)
A Place on Earth (1967, novel)
The Long-Legged House (1969, essays)
The Hidden Wound (1970, nonfiction)
Farming: A Handbook (1970, poetry)
The Unforeseen Wilderness: An Essay on Kentucky's Red River Gorge (1971)
The Memory of Old Jack (1974, novel)
The Unsettling of America (1977, nonfiction)
The Gift of Good Land (1981, essays)
Standing by Words (1985)
The Collected Poems: 1957-1982 (1985, poetry)
The Wild Birds: Six Stories of the Port William Membership (1986, short stories)
Home Economics (1987, essays)
Remembering (1988, novel)
Sabbaths (1987, poetry)
What Are People For? (1990, essays)
Fidelity (1992, short stories)
Sex, Economy, Freedom, and Community (1993, essays)
Watch with Me (1994, short stories)
Another Turn of the Crank (1995)
A World Lost (1997, novel)
Two More Stories Of The Port William Membership (1997)
Life is a Miracle: An Essay Against Modern Superstition (2000)
Jayber Crow (2000, novel)
That Distant Land: The Collected Stories of Wendell Berry (2004, short stories)
Hannah Coulter (2004, novel)
Andy Catlett: Early Travels. Washington, D. C.: Shoemaker & Hoard(2006).
Whitefoot: A Story from the Center of the World. Berkeley: Counterpoint(2009).

Read more

Please read our privacy policy. Page generated in 0.186s